The delete of a record doesn't reset the content but just moves bytes around. This was mainly for efficiency. It would be cool to have a setting (enabled by default) to wipe out the content when deleting. PROS: - security: deleted content is not readable, not even from the raw file - compression: having a sequence of 0 means the database can be more compressed at backup CONS: - a little bit slower on delete because of the additional write operation